top of page

Farewell to President Obama & Secretary Carter

When President Obama was elected as America's president in 2008, I was a Staff Sergeant, serving as Chief of the Special Security Office for the 18th Wing Intelligence unit in Okinawa, Japan. Being active duty, I completed an absentee ballot and was so proud that I could vote for my president from thousands of miles away. I cannot believe his tenure is over and we now see a different face in the White House. I have absolutely enjoyed seeing a president, who is so down to earth, genuine, caring, and most importantly, loves this country. President Obama has created a legacy that I have no doubt will go down as the greatest President the United States this nation has ever seen (that's if Mrs. Obama doesn't run). I am truly humbled and grateful that I was able to serve in the military under President Obama's leadership and meeting him is one of the greatest moments of my life. I will always be proud of the goofy look on my face when he asked me my name and was so taken back that I completely forgot. Moving 10 times in 13 years and deploying to Afghanistan in support of Operation Enduring Freedom, I have stories that my daughter can be proud of-- that both of her parents fought for her freedom under President Obama's leadership.

I met Dr. Carter on March 20, 2012 when I was hired to be his enlisted military assistant (he was Deputy Secretary of Defense at the time). I didn't know him at the time and I was hesitant about having such a high-demand and prestigious position at that point in my life. Still a staff sergeant, I was in graduate school and really didn't know my future plans. I just knew I wanted to teach (a goal I had since I was 5) in some capacity in the criminal justice and national security fields. Dr. Carter had a way of interacting with his people. Every month, anyone who had a birthday, he would make time to acknowledge the individual with an office party, card, and cake. Most importantly, he would take the time to know about the person and share a bio with co-workers they worked alongside. When it my birthday, Dr. Carter announced to everyone that I was a great worker and professor, etc., and from then on, he called Professor Maldonado or just plain "Professor." I think my co-workers were more stunned that I turned 29 that day-- more than anything else. The next day, I was putting up documents in his office and didn't notice he was in there working. After 20 minutes of walking back and forth, I finally saw he was in there and said "oh shit sir, sorry I didn't know you were in here!" I'll never forget that day. He said it's alright Professor. Then he randomly asked -So what are your plans with teaching? I said well I want to teach full-time at some point and publish research studies and articles. He said, well I suggest you obtain a PhD if you really want to teach. Conduct research and provide originality in your field of interest. Less than a month later (Dec 4, 2012), I started two PhD courses. When I told Dr. Carter I took his advice and started my PhD program, my name was never Professor Maldonado again or even Sergeant Maldonado-- it was Doctor. He spoke it into existence. He believed in me.

When I decided I wanted to complete my dissertation of the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter, I was allowed to go various meetings and take notes (unclassified of course). You don't know the feeling of not only be the only enlisted in the room, but an E-6 sitting with generals, SES's, and political appointees, looking at me like what the hell is she doing here? :) Nonetheless, the experience was priceless--they were willing to assist and give me advice for the future. Many senior officials took the time to chat with me. It was the experience of a lifetime. I did not realize the opportunity and privilege I had working in the Pentagon and I appreciated leadership for believing in me to do the job as Enlisted Military Assistant to the Deputy Secretary of Defense and Noncommissioned Officer in Charge of the Office of the Deputy Secretary. When I was in on vacation October 2013 and received an email Dr. Carter was retiring and it was less than two months, I was so upset. I remember actually crying in Fiji! When he left in December 2013, it was sad to see the person that I looked up to retire and move on to civilian life. Little did I know that he remained in touch, geve me feedback on my dissertation, and advice on my doctoral journey. Also, little did I know that less than two years of retirement, President Obama would nominate Dr. Carter as the 25th Secretary of Defense. He could not have picked the best person for the job. A man who was not political in decisions, but made decisions that was best for this country and in the interest of the United States Armed Forces -- it doesn't get any better than that. Three months later, I would tell him I finished my program with GPA 4.0 and he was very proud. Not only was he proud of my accomplishments, he asked to sign my book and he me meet Senator Jack Reid. If it was not for Major General Lewis hiring me, I would have not had the opportunity to have such an awesome leader and mentor-- and a career that would send me into the civilian to accomplish my goal. I had the opportunity and honor to work for two more secretaries, Mrs. Christine Fox and Deputy Secretary Bob Work and support Secretaries Leon Panetta and Chuck Hagel.

I met some really cool people and co-workers that I keep in touch with today. I really believe if it was not for working in the Pentagon and working for one of the greatest leaders ever, I wouldn't be Dr. Maldonado today. And I believe if it was not for him, I would not have separated from the world's greatest Air Force to pursue my goal of being Secretary of Defense one day (giving myself 15-years and if it does not happen, I will continue to write books :). I entirely agree with Gen. Dunford that Dr. Carter will go down history as one of the greatest Secretaries of Defense of the United States of America.

President Obama and Secretary Carter, thank you for your unwavering dedication and service to America and the troops. You will be truly missed!

bottom of page